Swift 5.3 and Windows

Hello.

Since I haven't found any timeline of Swift 5.3 release or Windows compiler release, I would like to ask some questions.

• Is it reasonable to expect Swift 5.3 (Linux) release before macOS 11 public release?
  • Is it reasonable to expect Swift Windows toolchain being available before the macOS 11 public release? (In the sama manner as the Ubuntu 20.04 toolchain is being available through master snapshot.
  • Is it reasonable to expect the same general functionality on Windows as available on Linux? Speaking about SPM and Sourcekit-lsp?

I have no experience with programming on Windows. Therefore I lack the general overview of how a compiler toolchain might work on Windows and what are the challenges when using the Swift compiler there.

Have a nice day!

3 Likes

Swift 5.3 will almost certainly be released in mid-September, just like every other fall release of the Swift toolchain. I know nothing about the Windows port, but it might help those who would answer to know why you're asking, if you "have no experience with programming on Windows." That would help them figure out where you're coming from and how best to answer and help you.

All previous releases of Swift have become available at the same time on all platforms (excepting a few accidental oversights among the patch releases). So while there has never been an official statement that I know of, it is extremely unlikely that 5.3 will arrive at different times on different platforms.

@compnerd’s VS2019 5.3 pipeline is comparable to those snapshots. Its artifacts include the Windows toolchain and installers. (That link is to an arbitrary build so you can see what you’re aiming for; you’ll want to actually navigate to the corresponding screen from the latest build in the pipeline instead.) Installation instructions are here.

• The compiler and core libraries (Foundation, Dispatch, XCTest) are at parity with Linux.