[GSoC 2021] Referencing enclosing self in a property wrapper type

Hi, my name is Siddharth Nair and I am a CS student at VIT University, India. I have been working with Swift and SwiftUI for a while now and it has turned into the programming language I use most often. GranHealth is the project I have been working on recently. It is an application which caters to the health and safety of the elderly.

My work with property wrappers is limited to just the basics as I have primarily used them to eradicate the use of extension for types. But I am extremely interested and motivated to learn the necessary concepts and more, to work on this project.

@hborla I request you to guide me as to how I could move forward and gain a deeper understanding of the project. I would love to be a part of the Swift community.

1 Like

Hi Siddharth, welcome to the Swift Community!

As a first step, I recommend reading the Swift evolution proposal for property wrappers. Everything through the Detailed Design section will give you a much more in-depth understanding of property wrappers and how they work.

After that, focus on the future direction for referencing enclosing self instance in a property wrapper. Once you've done that, continue reading the rest of this post!

I recommend getting familiar with the memory exclusivity issue outlined in the proposal by playing around with the "obvious" way to reference enclosing self that the proposal talks about, which is registering self with the property wrapper after self has been fully initialized. Here's a "working" version of the problematic code shown in the proposal:

protocol Observed {
  func broadcastValueWillChange<T>(newValue: T)
}

@propertyWrapper
struct Observable<Value> {
  var stored: Value
  var observed: Observed?

init(wrappedValue: Value) {
    self.stored = wrappedValue
  }

mutating func register(_ observed: Observed) {
    self.observed = observed
  }

public var wrappedValue: Value {
    get { return stored }
    set {