Adding more data structures to the standard library

I'm studying for job interviews for Swift positions by completing code problems. By far the most painful part of this preparation is the dismal state of data structures in Swift.

If I were programming in Java (which I really rather wouldn't), I would have easy access to...

Java's collections

Sets

• Unordered sets (HashSet, CopyOnWriteArraySet, EnumSet)
  • Insertion ordered sets (LinkedHashSet)
  • Naturally ordered sets (TreeSet, ConcurrentSkipListSet)

Maps ("Dictionaries" in Swift)

• Unordered dictionaries (HashMap, WeakHashMap, IdentityHashMap, EnumMap)
  • Insertion ordered dictionaries (LinkedHashMap)
  • Naturally ordered sets (TreeMap)

Ordered collections

• Arrays (ArrayList, LinkedList, Vector (a synchronized array), LinkedList)
  • Queues (ArrayDeque, ConcurrentLinkedDeque, PriorityQueue, SyncrhonousQueue, ArrayBlockingQueue, DelayQueue, LinkedBlockingQueue, PriorityBLockingQueue, linkedTransferQueue, LinkedBlockingDequeue`)

Behold this beauty: Collection Hierarchy

and Map Simple

Amazingly, many Java programmers don't even find these sufficient! The Guava library (a ubiquitous Java library by Google) adds in all kinds of collections like multi maps (map keys to multiple values), BiMaps (which offer O(1) look up from key to value, and from value to key), and all kinds of immutable, concurrent, lazy, etc. variants of most things above.

Meanwhile in Swift land

We have just Set (unordered), Dictionary (unordered), and Array. No concurrent collections (value types solves most of the issues here, but it doesn't solve things like the classic produce-consumer, for example), no linked lists, queues, stacks, bimaps, multimaps, or sort ordered collections.

If we import the ObjC data structures available from Foundation, and have a masochistic desire to cast everywhere because of the lack of generics, we get ordered sets, counted set, and that's ... about it.

Anticipated responses