Writing a formal semantics for Swift

Hello fellow Swift enthusiasts,

TL;DR; Is there a formal definition of Swift's semantics somewhere? If not, would it be of any use to you, and in which way? If such formal semantics were to be developed, what essential aspects should it include, as opposed the features that could be abstracted away?

I am a researcher at University of Geneva, working on programming languages. In an effort to use Swift as a basis to study the practicality of new/revisited theoretical concepts, I would love to have a formal definition of Swift, or subset thereof.

Swift has a rather advanced type system and offers a great set of features. I believe this makes the language suitable to explore many ideas related to static verification (e.g. capability-based systems, behavioral types, gradual typing, etc.). But a proper assessment of the soundness of a particular addition would require a formal definition of Swift's type system and operational semantics. To the best of my knowledge, such formal definitions do not exist, as Swift's semantics is expressed in prose only, in the language manual and/or in the various proposals produced by Swift Evolution.

Purely from a researcher's point of view, this hinders the use of Swift as a target to explore theoretical concepts, as correctness can only be evaluated empirically with an actual implementation. Say for instance one was planning on exploring the addition of uniqueness and borrowing a la Rust in Swift. Determining whether or not this would result in a sound type system can't be formally evaluated.

From a user's point of view, I believe that a formal semantics could also ease the understanding of some of Swift's most advanced features. For instance, teaching the use of protocols and conditional conformance can prove challenging, as the rules under which Swift's type solver operates often have to be "discovered" in a kind of trial-and-error loop.