What's the best way to keep a process running without a tight loop?

I'm working on a long-running command-line application which watches the file system and reacts to some events. What's the best way to keep it running until it gets sent the exit signal? I guess the naive way would be to have a while(true) loop after setup, bu that is undesirable for obvious reasons.

1 Like

Here's some info on how to use DispatchGroup and its .enter(), .leave(), wait().

May I ask what APIs you use for watching the file system?

1 Like

I’m not an expert on this, so someone else may correct me, but generally you want to be responding to events from the system where possible - e.g. existing within an NSRunLoop on macOS. If that’s not possible, a while loop with a sched_yield() or a sleep() call is usually a reasonable choice.

The answers to macos - How can I receive notifications of filesystem changes in OS X? - Stack Overflow may point you in a reasonable direction depending on what OS you’re targeting.

main.swift

import Cocoa
let app = NSApplication.shared
app.delegate = FSAppDelegate.init()
app.activate(ignoringOtherApps: true)
app.run()

FSAppDelegate.swift

import Cocoa

class FSAppDelegate: NSResponder, NSApplicationDelegate {
  func applicationDidFinishLaunching(_ notification: Notification) {
    // ... start your process or trigger it set timer intervals

// timer example:
    let timer = Timer(fire: Date(), interval: 0.1, repeats: true) { _ in FSApp.nextFrame() }
    RunLoop.current.add(timer, forMode: RunLoop.Mode.default) 
  }
}

class FSApp {
  static func nextFrame() {
    // ... run your process
  }
}

If you need to listen for keystrokes; look at NSEvent.addMonitorForEvents

1 Like

Sure. Currently I'm using the File System Events API (wrapped by the Witness library).

At the moment this is just a small utility library for my workstation, so macOS-only is ok for now. I might consider swapping it out for something more cross-platform in the future.