What is the future of Swift in the server side? What are the advantages of Swift?

What is the future of Swift in the server side? What are the advantages of Swift?

2 Likes

Exactly my questions ! Why should I go to Swift for server side ? What arguments to customers ? What interest for using it ?
Curiously waiting for good suggestions and to use it.
Thanks for courageous contributors.

1 Like

There are numerous reasons that are pretty convincing to me personally. As a consultant I also list similar reasons to my clients when we discuss languages to use for their code:

• Swift can be as fast as C or C++ code, and also allows calling C code directly if needed. Compare this to Java, which requires JNI wrappers or Node.js/Python, which require binary wrappers for any interaction with C. Swift is also a much higher level language than C or C++ with safe memory access by default, while still allowing to go lower level to work with pointers when needed (including interactions with C libraries).
  • Compared to all of these widely used languages, Swift's type system is much more advanced and is more on par with Scala or Rust. At the same time Swift has a strong focus on the progressive disclosure principle: you don't have to learn the advanced features and you can still be quite productive on many levels without going too deep into generics and associated types etc.
  • Swift has efficient memory management without the overhead of garbage collection. Swift's memory management is predictable and deterministic. Compare this to Java/JVM and any other garbage-collected language in general, in which the runtime might initiate a garbage collection pause at the most inconvenient moment and freeze everything when you're serving a customer request.