What is the correct design pattern for initializing SwiftUI view state from a function that can throw an exception?

I am trying to create a SwiftUI view that gets its data from the file system which involves invoking functions that can throw exceptions. Where is the correct place to execute the throwing function before setting on a @State property?

Everything I have tried so far has not worked and has felt like I'm fighting the system, which makes me suspect I'm missing a common design pattern (probably since I'm new to SwiftUI and Swift, and seems like this should be a common use case).

A throwing initializer.

init(getState: () throws -> State) throws {
  _state = .init(wrappedValue: try getState())
}

You did not tell how you intend to handle errors. Should the app crash? Maybe just use try!. Should the app display an error somewhere, in an alert, or somewhere else? Then use do { try ... } catch { ... }, or Result(catching: { try ... }) in order to make your views able to handle the extra states needed by error handling (letting the user know, letting the user click or tap acknowledgment, or repair, or retry buttons, automatic dismiss of a temporary error message, etc.) Note that I used the plural "views", instead of "view", because presenting errors to users usually involves several views: some are dedicated to the success scenario, some others are dedicated to the error scenario. In all cases, your first step is to decide how you want your app to behave. It's easier to implement something when you know what you want.

3 Likes

Expanding on @anon9791410's answer above, with this setup:

func getState() throws -> Int {
    throw NSError() // or don't throw
}

struct SomeView: View {
    @State var state: Int

init() throws {
        _state = .init(wrappedValue: try getState())
    }

var body: some View {
        Text("Hello")
    }
}

if you then try to use the standard do {} catch {} block:

struct ContentView: View {