VSCode settings for Swift

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to swift but wanted to document how I set up VSCode as a fairly good IDE. I don't have anything particularly AGAINST XCode (except that, for me, it's the IDE equivalent of iTunes), but I use VSCode as my primary editor for my other languages and wanted to see whether I could get it working with Swift. This is on my Mac, btw. YMMV for other OSes.

TLDR: it works, mostly well.

Extensions I installed:

• CodeLLDB for debugging
  • Run On Save for formatting
  • SwiftLint for linting
  • Maintained Swift Development Environment (MSDE) for syntax highlighting and hovering
  • Dash for offline documentation

Utilities I installed:

• swiftformat
  • swiftlint
  • sourcekite (instructions at the MSDE plugin repo)

First off: I disabled format on save in VSCode, and autosave as well. I then added the following:

"emeraldwalk.runonsave": {
    "commands": [
        {
            "match": "\\.swift$",
            "isAsync": false,
            "cmd": "cd ${fileDirname} && swiftformat ${fileBasename}"
       }
    ]
}

This will autoformat all files ending in .swift whenever they're saved.

Next, I created a tasks.json as follows:

{
    // See https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=733558
    // for the documentation about the tasks.json format
    "version": "2.0.0",
    "tasks": [
        {
            "label": "swiftc with debug",
            "type": "shell",
            "command": "swiftc -g ${file}",
            "group": {
                "kind": "build",
                "isDefault": true
            },
            "presentation": {
                "panel": "dedicated"
            }
        }
    ]
}

This can be used by itself, but it's better with a launch.json:

{
    // Use IntelliSense to learn about possible attributes.
    // Hover to view descriptions of existing attributes.
    // For more information, visit: https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=8303
    "version": "0.2.0",
    "configurations": [