Using isOnGem

I am new to Swift Playgrounds but I am slightly familiar with programming from many years ago. I am trying to use the isOnGem command but have not found the information for how it is used. Have I missed a lesson?

isOnGem is not part of Swift. What playground are you using? Did you build one from scratch? isOnGem sounds like a method defined in a class/struct within a particular application, thus, it has to be used within the context of using the containing class/struct.

Thank you for your response. The app I am using is My Playgrounds, ver. 3.2, by Apple. The instructions leave gaps which have to be figured out prior to actually doing any programming.

In the 1960’s I did some programming in Algol, FORTRAN, and Basic so I am familiar with some of the requirements.

Do you have any suggestions for learning Swift on-line?

Thank you.

is "My Playgrounds" the same as "Swift Playgrounds?" "Swift Playgrounds" is an App on the Mac App Store (and the iOS App store) that was originally written for the iPad, but, has recently been ported to Macs. It is billed as being approachable to programming from eight to eighty, and is supposed to be a general primer to programming, but, specifically uses Swift and Swift playgrounds. Reviews point out the first few lessons seem aimed at children, but the subject soon moves into more challenging lessons that even adults will find interesting.