UITableViewCell height problems

Hello:

As you will guess from what you are about to read I am extremely new at swift and IOS coding. I have am trying to display content on a UITableview using a UITableViewController and a custom coded UITableViewCell. In this cell I have two items, an imageview and a label. Both get populated with their corresponding data programmatically. The problem that I am having is laying out the image and the label inside the customcell class the way that I want. More specifically, I'm having problems figuring out what is driving the height of the custom cell's row when the project runs. Ideally I'd like the imageview to set this height constraint (along with the width), regardless of the size of the original image asset. But when I set the imageview's height constraints I get an error in the debugger telling me that it is "Unable to simultaneously satisfy constraints" and it mentions the constraimts that I have set for the imageview's bottom & height in the error code accordingly. This is as close as I have been able to run the project to make it look like I want but I keep getting that error.

I read somewhere that in order to have autolayout work properly in code I have to set the imageview's leading, top and bottom constraints somehow. But if I do not set a height constraing for the imageview then the table view uses the original height for the image and throws off the look of the table. These are the snippets of code that I have that I think are relevant:

code inside my TableviewController "viewDidLoad()" function
self.tableView.rowHeight = UITableView.automaticDimension
self.tableView.estimatedRowHeight = 200

code inside the custom "UITableViewCell" class declaration

var messageLabel: UILabel = {
    var label = UILabel()
    label.translatesAutoresizingMaskIntoConstraints = false
    label.backgroundColor = .blue  // REMOVE ME JUST FOR TESTING
    label.textColor = .black
    label.font = UIFont(name: "Verdana", size: 20)