Trouble Importing PostgresNIO

I've been trying for the past few days to use the PostgresNIO library onto my swift project. I'm new to Xcode and Swift so I might be missing something, but I keep getting errors when trying to import into my project telling me that the module I'm importing doesn't exist. Could I get some help with this?

What does your package.swift look like?

It looks like you're using an Xcode project (and not a Package.swift) and it also looks like you already added postgres-nio as a package dependency.

I reckon what you're missing is to tell Xcode that your target wants to have the PostgresNIO target. It's a bit hidden in Xcode but here's how you do that:

and then in the menu that pops up after clicking + do this

If you have multiple targets, you'll need to explicitly add this dependency for every target where you need it.

This is quite easy to miss because when you first add your package, then in the wizard, Xcode asks you

so normally, it asks you in the wizards which targets you want to add the dependency to. But what can happen is that at the time when you added the package, the target that you now what the dependency in wasn't there yet, so Xcode didn't add it when you added the package dependency. And that's why you'll now need to add it to the target manually.

Hope that makes sense.

@0xTim This is how my package.swift looks like. Tried playing around with it but I ended up assuming that I didn't need it since the library Postgres-nio already has a package.swift

@johannesweiss Unfortunately, Postgres was already on that list for the target that I wanted. I tried removing it and re-adding it in case it was just being finicky, but that didn't seem to be the case.

The Package.swift in your Xcode project won’t really do anything, best to remove it. If you have an Xcode project, you don’t use Package.swift.