The state of native macOS software development

Hello everybody!

I'm a software engineer with more than 10 years of experience in the backend web development world — mostly LAMP stack.

My goal for 2021 is to learn Swift and develop a native macOS app I have been thinking about for many years now.

I'm starting to look for learning materials and I found out it is quite difficult to find books, tutorials and resources in general for learning Swift for macOS development — all of the tutorials and books are focusing on iOS.

Other fellows Swift developers mentioned that Apple may want to gradually retire native macOS development and move developers from AppKit to use UIKit + Catalyst.

What are your thoughts about the state of native macOS development in 2021?

Thank you very much! — and happy new year!

Most of the non-UI related code should be identical or very similar between iOS and macOS so following iOS tutorials for that shouldn’t be a problem. Yes it is really annoying trying to search for a macOS specific problem though. I usually end up asking on the Apple developer forums.

For UI code, I would recommend you start learning SwiftUI and Combine instead of AppKit or UIKit because that will insulate you somewhat from AppKit/UIKit differences (SwiftUI is sort of cross-platform if you’re willing to #if os(...) a lot of edge cases), and will also offer a measure of future-proofing if AppKit is ever deprecated.

I will say that so far, new UI features have been coming to AppKit/UIKit first, and then showing up in SwiftUI later. To me this indicates AppKit still has legs.

1 Like