Testing SPM dependencies targets

Hi there,
I'm quite new to PackageManager and I was wondering, is there a way to test the XCTest cases included in my SPM dependencies, from the main project test target?
Meaning, testing my main project should also trigger my dependencies' tests.
(by main project i mean the top-most project that uses my SPM libraries)

I've been creating SPM kits like so:

// swift-tools-version:5.3
import PackageDescription

let package = Package(
    name: "myKit",
    platforms: [.iOS("14.5.0")],
    products: [
        .library(name: "myKit", targets: ["myKit"])
        //.library(name: "myKitTests", targets: ["myKitTests"])  // tried this, i get a warning that says this duplicated target is ignored
    ],
    dependencies: [
        // My kit's own dependencies. Their own tests i don't mind if i can't access them.
    ],
    targets: [
        .target(name: "myKit", dependencies: [...]),
        .testTarget(name: "myKitTests", dependencies: ["myKit"])
    ]
)

This kit is imported in my main project, but i can't exectute myKits' tests from there.
I've declared all kits' tests as public but not any better.

What is even more frustrating is that i can see my test files in the "Package Dependencies" section of the Project navigator and importing my kit as a local SPM library (which i don't want) allows me to trigger the kit's tests.

Any idea of how i could accomplish this?
Many thanks

2 Likes

The standard method would be to download and open the dependency itself and run them from there.

Even if a dependency were theoretically released in a state where tests were failing, there is nothing you could do to fix the release anyway. It is only if you have overridden the dependency with a local copy and have make changes that there would be any reason to see if said changes broke anything. Running tests over and over on something that cannot have changed would usually just be a waste of time.