SwiftWasm compilation with calls to Foundation's FileHandle errors out although API exists in corelibs

I’ve been experimenting with SwiftWASM recently as I’m gearing up for developing a web version of a macOS app I’ve worked on. So far I understand I should be able to reuse the Swift model layer from the Mac and I’m quite excited about that.

I’m rather new to using Swift on non-Darwin platforms and there's definitely a number a challenges I'm facing doing that, but I’ll start with what’s immediately blocking me right now.

Using Carton, I set up a simple website where Swift code is loading an HTML-embedded asset and renders several objects to the DOM via JavaScriptKit. I’d like to add HTML parsing so I’ve added the SwiftSoup package but I hit a snag because the package won’t compile for WASM.

Compiling (with swift build --triple wasm32-unknown-wasi) returns about 70 errors, all about missing APIs in Foundation's FileHandle. If SwiftSoup made calls to API not yet implemented in swift-corelibs-foundation that would have made sense to me, but each call I sampled appears to have been ported.

For example, here's one such error:

SwiftSoup/Sources/StreamReader.swift:23:42: error: incorrect argument label in call (have 'forReadingAtPath:', expected 'fileDescriptor:')
        guard let fileHandle = FileHandle(forReadingAtPath: path),
                                         ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                                          fileDescriptor

The compiler is basically pointing out that init(forReadingAtPath:) does not exist on FileHandle but it does appear to exist.

I've also isolated the call out to a new package and got the same error.

Would anyone know what's the cause and how to work around it? Thanks!

Disable file/dispatch-related code in Foundation for WASI by MaxDesiatov · Pull Request #3050 · apple/swift-corelibs-foundation · GitHub (WebAssembly doesn't have files, so Foundation.FileHandle & many other such things can't exist there)