Swiftc cannot find files when passing relative paths going up directory levels

I'm very new to Swift, so pardon my ignorance, but I'm trying to build Swift examples that will run on Windows, Linux, and Mac. And noticed a problem only on Windows. If you pass a source file going up a directory, swiftc says it can't find the file. For example, "swiftc ..\somefile.swift". Any idea how to fix this? This works on Mac and Linux just fine. Going down relative directories works fine. For example, "swiftc .\blah\blah\somefile.swift". I installed swift-5.7.3-RELEASE-windows10.exe.

Please try with the latest snapshots off of main, this sounds like a bug in swift-tools-support-core which impacts the swift-driver.

I finally got around to testing the snapshots. I tried using a development branch dated 2023-2-27 and 2023-4-1 and they also did not work.

Interesting. Do you have a simple test case that you can share for this? swift-llbuild/Package.swift at main ยท apple/swift-llbuild (github.com) is one example of this that I was running some time ago.

I built a simple example, with a bat script that works and one that fails, and a bash script that works on linux that you can see matches the one that fails on Windows. But how do I get it to you? It's a zip file with *.swift, *.bat, and *.sh files. This blog only allows me to upload images.

The bash script isn't particularly helpful; the batch file seems odd. Could you reproduce it with CMake perhaps? The best way to share it may be through GitHub then.

The bat and bash scripts just run the swiftc command, where you can see "../" works in bash on Linux but not bat on Windows. I created the following GitHub repo:GitHub - soraoka/swifttest: Shows an example of .. works on linux but not windows