Swift standard library on platforms without threading support?

I'm very interested know if there's an easy way to get existing Swift standard library working on platforms that don't support threading, like AVR and WebAssembly.

From what I saw in the standard library and runtime source code, there's a strong assumption of threading support in stdlib, e.g. all reference counting code relies on working <atomic> header, which can't be imported on platforms without threading:

#ifdef _LIBCPP_HAS_NO_THREADS
#error <atomic> is not supported on this single threaded system
#endif

Maybe someone have already done some work to port the standard library and runtime to an environment without threading support or maybe there's some preprocessor or build script configuration flag that I missed?

Thanks.

I'm not a developer of Swift or stdlib but I think there is a good chance that move-only types proposed for Swift 5 would solve this issue.

@carlos4242 has been working on an alternative standard library implementation for AVR:

It would be interesting to add a configuration flag to disable threading support in the "normal" runtime and standard library. Nobody's done that yet to my knowledge. For that specific issue, though, it is incorrect to avoid using <atomic> in a single-threaded system; I'm not sure why that #if is there. <atomic> is still meaningful for a single-threaded system for atomicity relative to signals and other preemption mechanisms.

4 Likes

As far as I understand move only types will not be introduced with Swift 5, there is no such proposal, but there is consensus that they should come eventually someday and somehow. Current proposals that mention and are motivated by the introduction of move only types aim to avoid post Swift 5 ABI breakage, when they really become an issue…

2 Likes

Move-only types won't impact whether the runtime needs to be thread safe on multithreaded platforms.

4 Likes