Swift on Windows - Resolve Package Dependencies fail, build fail

I'm new to Swift. I really want to try the language at a hobby project, but have been hindered at the initial step on Windows.

I have Visual Studio 2022 installed with the relevant workloads.
I have Swift installed (6.0 main snapshot)
I have vscode installed with the Swift extension.

I created an executable with the tool in vscode.
Immediately, I get this problem in the screenshot below:

If I try to run swift build
I get the error below:

error: 'helloworld': Invalid manifest (compiled with: ["C:\\Users\\rober\\AppData\\Local\\Programs\\Swift\\Toolchains\\6.0.0+Asserts\\usr\\bin\\swiftc.exe", "-vfsoverlay", "C:\\Users\\rober\\AppData\\Local\\Temp\\TemporaryDirectory.dFvG1j\\vfs.yaml", "-L", "C:\\Users\\rober\\AppData\\Local\\Programs\\Swift\\Toolchains\\6.0.0+Asserts\\usr\\lib\\swift\\pm\\ManifestAPI", "-lPackageDescription", "-sdk", "C:\\Users\\rober\\AppData\\Local\\Programs\\Swift\\Platforms\\6.0.0\\Windows.platform\\Developer\\SDKs\\Windows.sdk", "-libc", "MD", "-I", "C:\\Users\\rober\\AppData\\Local\\Programs\\Swift\\Platforms\\6.0.0\\Windows.platform\\Developer\\Library\\XCTest-development\\usr\\lib\\swift\\windows", "-I", "C:\\Users\\rober\\AppData\\Local\\Programs\\Swift\\Platforms\\6.0.0\\Windows.platform\\Developer\\Library\\XCTest-development\\usr\\lib\\swift\\windows\\x86_64", "-L", "C:\\Users\\rober\\AppData\\Local\\Programs\\Swift\\Platforms\\6.0.0\\Windows.platform\\Developer\\Library\\XCTest-development\\usr\\lib\\swift\\windows\\x86_64", "-use-ld=lld", "-swift-version", "6", "-I", "C:\\Users\\rober\\AppData\\Local\\Programs\\Swift\\Toolchains\\6.0.0+Asserts\\usr\\lib\\swift\\pm\\ManifestAPI", "-package-description-version", "6.0.0", "F:\\SwiftDev\\P1\\HelloWorld\\Package.swift", "-o", "C:\\Users\\rober\\AppData\\Local\\Temp\\TemporaryDirectory.fWcNOl\\helloworld-manifest.exe"])
error: compile command failed due to exception 3 (use -v to see invocation)