Swift + MacOS + Xcode : Type () cannot conform to View

Hello,
I am new to Swift and am finding some things maddening. Attached is a section of code with the associated Xcode problems. For the life of me I do not understand how to use a local variable which I think is what I am trying to deal with. I think I am missing some bigger issue/constraint. If someone could enlighten me it would be appreciated.

Chris

The code inside the curly braces after List is not typical Swift code but is part of a ViewBuilder, a special type of ResultBuilder offered by Apple's SwiftUI framework. As such it does not obey the typical rules of Swift syntax and can only build View-conforming values. One of the limitations of ResultBuilders is that they can only produce a limited set of values. Assigning a variable is not one that's supported.

I suggest reviewing the ResultBuilder docs (scroll down to the "Result Builders" section) as well as Apple's SwiftUI docs, and the 100 Days of SwiftUI.

1 Like

Jon,

What I am trying to figure out here is how do I change the @observedobject (boolean) in my view so that the view refreshes. Do you think the suggested docs will explain the to me?

Thanks,

Chris

When do you want to change this variable? When the view first appears?

Points to keep in mind:

• View is a struct (value type)
  • SwiftUI uses a declarative style of programming, In UIKit, we create a label, then modify it to add text / color, we don't do that in SwiftUI
  • It will react to changes from the object it observes (@ObservedObject)

My Suggestion:

Note:

• For SwiftUI related questions you could post on StackOverflow / Apple Developer forums.

Code

Given below is sample code which shows how to change the boolean value when a button is pressed.

Model:

import Foundation

class Car: ObservableObject {
    @Published var isEngineOn = false
}

View

import SwiftUI

struct ContentView: View {

@ObservedObject var car: Car

var body: some View {
        VStack {