Swift: check increments of 10 in 100 and apply formula

I would like to automatically check against a default value to change another, here I can check for anything less than 10 to set a value. However, after that I would like to update the previous value by multiplying by 2 each ten increments, of 100 batches:

func calculate(for balm: balm, in inventory: Dictionary<balm, Double>, fromOriginal: Double) -> Double {

var returnValue: Double = 0
    let interval = 10

for (checkKey, iterValue) in inventory {
        if checkKey == balm {
            if (iterValue < 10) {
            } else {

for decaLeap in stride(from: 11, to: 100, by: interval) {
                    if (iterValue == Double(decaLeap)) {
                returnValue = Double(fromOriginal * 2)
                    }
                }
            }
        }
    }
    return (returnValue)
}

Presently the first loop check is easy enough, but the Stride function (which I have never used before) outputs 22, 32, 42.. and that is where I have the problem as I would like anything between 11-20 to multiply the previous value by two.

However, if the number is 30, then I don't want the loop to cut out at 20 because it found a positive, but I'm unsure how it works?

e.g.

<10 = default
11-20 = default *2 (aka "part2")
21-30 = part2 * 2 (aka "part3)
31-40 = part3 * 2..

I am not sure if Stride is the best thing to use, but didn't want a whole load of IF statements :slight_smile:

Many thanks!

I don’t know what you mean by “of 100 batches”.

Anyhow, if I understand correctly, you’re trying to do

iterValue < 10; return default
10 <= iterValue < 20; return default * 2
20 <= iterValue < 30; return default * 2 * 2
30 <= iterValue < 40; return default * 2 * 2 * 2
40 <= iterValue < 50; return default * 2 * 2 * 2 * 2

If that’s the case:

func calculate<Balm>(for balm: Balm, in inventory: Dictionary<Balm, Double>, fromOriginal: Double) -> Double where Balm: Hashable {
    var returnValue: Double = 0