[Suggestion] [Beginner] Data structure that implements quick insertion and removal of items

Hi folks, I was wondering if it may be possible to add a data structure that would add the following points:

• fast insertion, at most O(logn)
  • fast removal, at most O(logn)
  • fast access with subscript, at most O(logn)

While the Deque module already covers it, it gives me a bit of problems during resizes of the array, I'm using it as an underlying data structure for my app that contains approximately 200k records.

I don't want to make you lose time, as I'm a newbie in using both Git and Swift, and I'm open to suggestions, so, if you know other workarounds, I'm here to learn.

Nonetheless, here's how I would achieve my goals:

• The data structure should be based off a SkipList, but with fixed length promotion of nodes, so that we can control where each promoted node is.
  • Each "promoted" node knows how many items are in the middle between both the previous and next node
  • Each node knows whether it is pointed by a promoted node and every promoted node points to an underlying node (This allows us a traversal between layers of "promoted" nodes)
  • Each time we add a node at a random position, we see if we have too many items, and if so, we promote a new node
  • Each time we remove a node at a random position, we see if we have too few items, and if so, we remove a promoted node
  • The search would occur by iterating from the uppest layer of promoted nodes and going down each time we would surpass our objective. Once reached, we only go down

I already worked on something my work

This started off more like a private repo for datastructures I needed.

I hope to not have angered anyone, and I'm open to suggestions and even a rejection.

Why not Dictionary?
Otherwise I'd look at some B-Tree flavour.

1 Like

Thank you for the reply.