String replacement of character at

Hi,

I'm very new at Swift, and I wonder what's the reason behind the snippet below not being possible.

var str = "My A String"
str[3] = "B"
//or
str.replace(at: 3, with: "B")

I know there are ways of doing this and extend String. I wonder, why isn't this already in the Standard Library.

I'm using Swift 5.1

1 Like

It’s mentioned in the documentation:

different characters can require different amounts of memory to store, so in order to determine which Character is at a particular position, you must iterate over each Unicode scalar from the start or end of that String . For this reason, Swift strings can’t be indexed by integer values.

I highly recommend you read through the Strings and Characters chapter for a better understanding of how Strings work.

I highly recommend you read through the Strings and Characters chapter for a better understanding of how Strings work.

I did.

I'm not talking about memory. Whatever size the characters have you can always count them by using an integer. If the first character takes 3 bytes, and the second character takes 6 bytes, and the third takes 1 bytes. When I do str[3] = "B" I mean, replace the fourth character, wherever it is in memory for this new character (starting with byte 11 in the example before).

I'll show you:

var index: Int = 0;
var newStr = ""
for c in str {
    if index == 3 {
        newStr.append("B")
    } else {
        newStr.append(c)
    }
    index += 1
}

Heck, I can also show you this non-sense

let rs = str.index(str.startIndex, offsetBy: 3) // See how 3 is an Int
let re = str.index(str.startIndex, offsetBy: 4) // See how 4 is an Int
str.replaceSubrange(rs..<re, with: "B")

Well, the subscript operator is documented to be O(1), however String cannot provide this guarantee with an Int index because it can't get you the nth character without evaluating all the characters before it. You have to use the String.Index subscript instead.