[SR-7715] FileManager.DirectoryEnumerator from enumerator(at:includingPropertiesForKeys:options:errorHandler:) enumerates Any instead of URL

Hi All,

Before I start, Im new to open source and to process, so please forgive me if I post a wrong question at wrong place. If Im wrong I would appreciate if you guys point me to the right direction.

Im trying to see if I can fix this issue, [SR-7715] FileManager.DirectoryEnumerator from enumerator(at:includingPropertiesForKeys:options:errorHandler:) enumerates Any instead of URL · Issue #3704 · apple/swift-corelibs-foundation · GitHub. After going through the code, these are my observations,

FileManager.DirectoryEnumerator is a subclass of NSEnumerator. The super class implementation returns Any when the iteration calls nextObject() method. Which is why in for or while loops we are getting the superclass's return type Any.

The challenge, as far as I see, is making the DirectoryEnumerator a generic type. The reason we would want generic type is because we are using the same class in two place,

• enumerator(at:includingPropertiesForKeys:options:errorHandler:)
  • enumerator(atPath:)

So if we were to find a solution for this issue, then the solution should be of generic approach.

This is what Im thinking,
One way to improve the API is by not inheriting DirectoryEnumerator from NSEnumerator. This way DirectoryEnumerator class is not limited by it superclass. This gives advantage to convert the DirectoryEnumerator into a generic class.

extension FileManager {

open class DirectoryEnumerator<T>: Sequence {

public typealias EnumeratorElement = T

public struct Iterator : IteratorProtocol {
            let enumerator : DirectoryEnumerator<T>
            public func next() -> Any? {
                return enumerator.nextObject()
            }
        }

public func makeIterator() -> Iterator {
            return Iterator(enumerator: self)
        }

open func nextObject() -> EnumeratorElement? {