Scroll Performance with ForEachStore

I've been wrestling with this all day. I'm still fairly new to TCA in general, so maybe I'm misunderstanding how things are supposed to piece together here.

I have a FileManagerView with a ForEachStore inside a List like so:

List {
  ForEachStore(
    self.store.scope(
      state: \.shownFiles,
      action: FileManagerAction.fileListItem(id:action:)
    ),
    content: FileListItem.init(store:)
  )
}

shownFiles is defined in FileManagerState as an IdentifiedArrayOf<FileListItemState>. The list renders the items as I would expect, but each item has some data that I want to fetch lazily as the user scrolls to reveal the file info. Things like on-disk size, attaching to the file representation's objectWillChange publisher, etc.

In FileListItem, I fire these initial setup things in its Reducer by sending the onAppear action in SwiftUI's onAppear() callback.

This is where things get hairy. By adding that onAppear hook, scroll performance is out the window! And I know it's not the effects that the Reducer fires off; the scroll jitters even when case .onAppear returns .none. It seems that the simple act of sending an action to the view store has a significant performance cost when many such calls are made in a row.

Instruments tells me that the heaviest callstacks bottom out in extractHelp in extract(case:from:), in a call to String(describing:), I guess while building something to do with a CasePath. I have no idea what it's doing, or why it's taking so long there in this case. I'm still new to TCA in general...

I've tried a few work-arounds:

• Set a variable in the view state to check from the reducer, and optionally return .none. This was no good, as the performance hit is on the way to the reducer, not in the effects fired after.