Reverse generics and opaque result types

Introduction

I've been trying to wrap my head around SE-0244: Opaque Result Types and recently I had some realizations that helped me understand the proposal better. I noticed I'm not the only one confused about it, so I thought I'd write down some things that might help others to get a better grasp of the concept as well.

In doing so, I'd also like to try and rebrand opaque result types, or at least the underlying mechanism, to something I'm calling 'reverse generics'. I think viewing this all from a slightly different perspective helps a lot in understanding the concepts involved.

Disclaimer: I'm not a language expert. What I'm about to write might not be 100% accurate. If so, I hope someone with more knowledge will correct me and I will update this post accordingly.

Reverse generics

Reverse generics, as I'm calling it, is more or less the same concept as normal generics, but in a different direction as we all are familiar with. Many of the things involved work exactly in the opposite way.

Notation

In order to be able to talk about reverse generics, we need to introduce some notation. Let's start with a normal generic example and then transform it into its reverse counterpart:

// Normal generics
func callee<T: Numeric>(_ x: T) {
  // We don't know what the concrete type of x is in this context, so
  // we can only do things with x that the Numeric protocol allows us to do.
}

func caller() {
  // The caller decides what concrete type is used for T when calling
  // the callee function, as long as it conforms to the Numeric protocol.
  // In this case the concrete type of T will be Int.
  callee(42) 
}

This example is pretty straightforward and we can translate it into reverse generics as follows:

1. Switch the inputs and outputs of the function.
  2. Change the generic type parameter T to be a reverse generic type parameter.