[Resolved] Model with property `title` requires a db table column named `_title` unexpectedly

I have to say in advance that I am fairly new to GRDB.

I created a little sample app with the following model:

import Foundation
import GRDB

@Observable
final class Shortcut: Identifiable {
  let id: UUID
  var title: String

init(
    id: UUID = UUID(),
    title: String
  ) {
    self.id = id
    self.title = title
  }
}

extension Shortcut: Codable, FetchableRecord, PersistableRecord {}

In my GRDBClient, I introduced a func to create the table:

private func createShortcutTable(in db: Database) throws {
    let tableName = "shortcut"
    if try db.tableExists(tableName) == false {
      try db.create(table: tableName) { table in
        table.column("id", .text).primaryKey().notNull()
        table.column("title", .text).notNull()
      }
    }
  }

I can run the application, but as soon as I try an insert into above table, I am met with the following error message: table shortcut has no column named _title in "INSERT INTO "shortcut" ("id", "_title") VALUES (?,?)"

I now wonder as to where the underscore is coming from here–I searched in the documentation but failed to find anything …

If I change above line table.column("title", .text).notNull() to table.column("_title", .text).notNull()–just adding the underscore–the app works as expected.

What am I missing? Is there a spot where I could be handling/declaring anything wrong?
I could live with the above correction, but I'd like to understand why it is neccessary…

Hello @appfrosch,

Another GRDB user had the same issue, and the root problem is that @Observable does not play well with Codable. The macro creates underscored properties, and those are the coded ones.

Some possible workarounds include:

• Provide a custom CodingKeys enum that fixes the default one, synthesized by the compiler. I guess this should work out of the box, but I did not test: