Request for feedback on slow Swift code

Hi All,

I'm new to Swift and was exploring the language today by generating random numbers from a normal distribution. The performance of my code is noticeably slower than similar code that I had previously written in Chez Scheme. Are there any obvious performance pitfalls in the way I've written this code?

Thanks,

Travis

import Foundation

// rejection method from https://www.cse.wustl.edu/~jain/books/ftp/ch5f_slides.pdf
func rnorm(_ mu: Double = 0, _ sd: Double = 1) -> Double {
    func comp(_ x: Double) -> Double {
        return exp(-1 * pow(x-1, 2)/2)
    }
    var u1: Double; var u2: Double; var x: Double;
    repeat {
        u1 = Double.random(in: 0...1)
        u2 = Double.random(in: 0...1)
        x = -1 * log(u1)
    } while u2 > comp(x)
    if Double.random(in: 0...1) > 0.5{
        return (mu + sd * x)
    } else {
        return (mu - sd * x)
    }
}

func sampleNormal(_ n: Int, _ mu: Double = 0, _ sd: Double = 1) -> [Double] {
    var out = Array(repeating: 0.0, count: n)
    for i in 1..<n {
        out[i] = rnorm(mu, sd)
    }
    return out
}
let x = sampleNormal(1000000, 10, 10)
print(x.reduce(0, +)/Double(x.count))

What build settings are you using?

Good question. I guess I'm using the default build settings. I'm just using swift build and swift run. I'm using Swift 5.3.3 on Ubuntu 20.04. Thanks.

Do the performance issues disappear when you build using release mode?

$  swift build --help | rg release
  --configuration, -c     Build with configuration (debug|release) [default: debug]

No. Using swift build -c release did not yield a noticeable improvement.

It’s also worth noting that, at least on Mac, the default SystemRandomNumberGenerator is relatively slow compared to, eg., linear congruence PRNGs. I don’t know if the same is true on Linux, but you could try writing a simple generator like WyRand or Xoroshiro or PCG, to see if that makes a difference.