Question regarding concurrency

Hello, so I am just starting to learn about concurrency in Swift and while reading the official documentation regarding Swift Concurrency I got confused about something. In the chapter "Calling Asynchronous Functions in Parallel" there is a following statement:

"Calling an asynchronous function with await runs only one piece of code at a time. While the asynchronous code is running, the caller waits for that code to finish before moving on to run the next line of code."

Followed by this code:

let firstPhoto = await downloadPhoto(named: photoNames[0])
let secondPhoto = await downloadPhoto(named: photoNames[1])
let thirdPhoto = await downloadPhoto(named: photoNames[2])

I got confused because I thought that while the asynchronous function is suspended other asynchronous functions can run on the same thread meaning that here the second downloadPhoto() function would start its work when the first photo's download is suspended (while waiting for the network response for example) instead of waiting for the first photo to get fully download. So, can somebody please explain what is happening here?

So my understanding of this is only basic so far (still have a lot to learn), but the way I understand it is that even though all of those calls are running asynchronously, the await keyword forces them into a synchronous sequence in the flow of the method itself. So what ends up happening is that the first one gets called and the function waits for that to finish before calling the second one. And so forth. So yes these functions all could run concurrently or in parallel, but using await makes them run serially.