Process() working in one project but not the other

Hi Guys,

I am new to swift and want to create a little Menu Bar app to launch VMs in VirtualBox.

To be able to do that I need to generate a list of VMs and that can be easily done from the commandline with "VBoxManager list vms". So the idea was born to use Process and execute it in the background, collect the output and generate the menu from it.

That does work here in my Shell project:

func list_vms() -> String {
    let task = Process()
    task.executableURL = URL(fileURLWithPath: "/usr/local/bin/VBoxManage")
    let option = "list"
    let command = "vms"
    task.arguments = [option, command]
    let outputPipe = Pipe()
    let errorPipe = Pipe()

task.standardOutput = outputPipe
    task.standardError = errorPipe
    do {
        try task.run()
        } catch {
            print("Error launching VBoxManage")
    }
    let outputData = outputPipe.fileHandleForReading.readDataToEndOfFile()
    let output = String(decoding: outputData, as: UTF8.self)

return output
}

But the exact same code in an "App" project instead of "Command Line Tool" fails with VBoxManager not being executed. I have no idea why. That doesn't seem logical to me.

Anyone here that can point me into the right direction?

2 Likes

Is there a sandbox in the way?

In general, printing the actual error can provide more information too:

print(error.localizedDescription, error)