Possibility of an explicit covariance attribute for generic types

Disclaimer: I'm no compiler expert and I have no idea if the idea is pure nonsense or not, but I'd like to discuss it here since for some reason I seem to recall that it was mentioned somewhere before, but I cannot find that discussion.

It would be interesting to know if it does makes sense and it's potentially a feature that we could push forward or not. Here I'm speaking of some kind of an attribute or keyword for generic types that would allow covariance explicitly. Furthermore it would interesting to know if such an attribute could be retroactively added to existing types such as KeyPath.

What do you guys think? If the idea of such a keyword/attribute was discussed before, I really would appreciate if we can link the previous threads to this discussion.

2 Likes

Just throwing this out there for how one language (Scala) does variance: Variances | Tour of Scala | Scala Documentation. Variance is one of the more complicated things in the Scala type system, and it's not something that you use very often in my experience.

2 Likes

Kotlin, Scala, C# all do varience similarly, you mark the generic type as either in, out, or inout. I am not a fan of the explicit marking, since it clutters code. However, if the compiler could do it for you!

1 Like

Hello everyone!

This morning, I watched Paul Hudson's new video on phantom types, How to use phantom types in Swift - YouTube . One usecase he brings up are typesafe generic state machines (see below), which could be wonderful if it was possible to store them. I one had the same idea and found the same problem with it, but finding out that others had thought about this as well sparked new interest on my side.