Performance problem sending WebSocket frames

I'm rather new to SwiftNIO but I think I'm starting to understand it. I have an app that needs to perform a speed test, testing the communication speed to and from a server. To do this it sends and receives binary web socket frames. I'm on a 1 Gb network with a switch between the client and server. Receiving data achieves 110 MB/s but sending gets me only 10 Mbps.

I've been debugging this and have now reduced the code into a very simple test that only uses the WebSocketFrameEncoder, all other parts of the web socket handling has been removed. The receiver on the server is a simple TCP listener that only receives data and throws it away after measuring the speed.

fileprivate class SpeedHandlerTcp: ChannelOutboundHandler {
    typealias OutboundIn = ByteBuffer
    typealias OutboundOut = ByteBuffer

func write(context: ChannelHandlerContext, data: NIOAny, promise: EventLoopPromise<Void>?) {
        context.write(data, promise: promise)
    }
}

fileprivate class SpeedHandlerWebSocket: ChannelOutboundHandler {
    typealias OutboundIn = ByteBuffer
    typealias OutboundOut = WebSocketFrame

func write(context: ChannelHandlerContext, data: NIOAny, promise: EventLoopPromise<Void>?) {
        let buffer = self.unwrapOutboundIn(data)
        var key = [UInt8]()
        for _ in 1 ... 4 {
            key.append(UInt8.random(in: 0 ... 255))
        }
        let maskingKey = WebSocketMaskingKey(key)
        let frame = WebSocketFrame(fin: true, opcode: .binary, maskKey: maskingKey, data: buffer)
        context.write(self.wrapOutboundOut(frame), promise: promise)
    }
}

fileprivate class Connection {
    private var ip: String
    private var port: Int
    private var useWebSocket: Bool

private let group = MultiThreadedEventLoopGroup(numberOfThreads: 2)
    private var channel: Channel?
    let bufferSize = 65536
    private let buffer: ByteBuffer
    private var startTime: Date?
    private var bytesWritten = 0