Package creation command and templates support for SwiftPM

Hi everyone :wave:

I'm Niko, I graduated as a software engineer last year. I'd be very happy to work on templates support for SwiftPM as part of GSoC 2022! I'm proficient in Swift and have used it for both iOS & macOS development as well as for a server-side project with Vapor.

I think it would be great to provide the ability to create new packages from templates, as was also already pitched in this forum post and this evolution proposal. This could help organizations standardize their directory structure across projects. It would also allow projects like Vapor to offer templates so that people could easily get started with a new project. Vapor currently does this through their CLI tool but having templating built into the package manager would make this capability more readily available, also to smaller open source projects and individuals.

I would be happy to build on top of the existing pitch and feedback, and look at package managers from other ecosystems, such as Node's npm, Rust's Cargo etc. to further flesh out the idea and implement it in an intuitive way.

@NeoNacho @abertelrud @tomerd you were mentioned as potential mentors for this project. Do you know whether any work has been done on this topic since May of last year?

I'm really looking forward to getting more involved in the Swift community! :nerd_face:

Best,
Niko

6 Likes

Thanks for reaching out @PoshAlpaca. Starting from the existing pitch and proposal is a good starting point. with the new SwiftPM plugin subsystem there is also an opportunity to explore if this can be abstracted as a new template type.

3 Likes