Moving source files without XCode in OS X

So I never programmed for OS X before swift and one thing that surprised me was that moving a file directly from finder made my project stop compiling. I had to open the project in XCode (I was using AppCode before but it wasn't letting me move a file to a subdirectory) and move the file from there.

I don't know much OS X but from an outsider's perspective this behavior is really surprising. I suspect that in Ubuntu you can just drag and drop from the file explorer and it can still resolve the relative imports, so would it be possible to make it behave like this in OS X too? I see this surprising (and annoying) a lot of people coming from Python, Java, Kotlin etc.

I'm not an expert in the way that Xcode works, but from my experience I think that Xcode keeps track of the files used in a project. So if you delete a file from Finder Xcode will recognise that and make the file representation (the file as shown in Xcode) in the Project Navigator semi-transparent like a 'disabled-state'. So for your project to compile you need to delete the file from Xcode as well. To add a file you have to drag it into the Project Navigator and Xcode will include it in the source files.

1 Like

Thanks @filip-sakel, I found out the hard way unfortunately. The problem is even if you never use XCode and compile your application in the console, moving a file manually will break everything and require you to open XCode to fix it. Since Swift is no longer just OS X specific this is a little strange to me.

For those of use who just want to do Swift server side development and aren't interested in XCode is there any chance swift will be able to resolve imports by path instead at some point?