Make types Hashable

Currently Swift types arent Hashable. This is a problem e.g. in SwiftUI Environment, where theres a subscript<K: EnvironmentKey>(type: K.Type) but it cant be used directly @Environment(\.[MyKey.self]). The result is needless boilerplate (proxy property) in one of SwiftUI's core features.

I worked around this in GitHub - pteasima/BetterEnvironment: SwiftUI Sugar. , but still its not as elegant as making the subscript available in a key path.

With how easy the solution seems to be (struct HashableType<Type>: Hashable { }), arguably it would be easy to add to Swift (the only thing stopping users from doing it is the fact that you cant extend metatypes). Im not a compiler expert and am ready to be educated. But stil, is this worth pursuing?

10 Likes

Formally, they're called Metatype.

2 Likes

You could probably do something like this:

struct AnyMetatypeWrapper {
    let metatype: Any.Type
}

extension AnyMetatypeWrapper: Equatable {
    static func ==(lhs: Self, rhs: Self) -> Bool {
        lhs.metatype == rhs.metatype
    }
}

extension AnyMetatypeWrapper: Hashable {
    func hash(into hasher: inout Hasher) {
        hasher.combine(ObjectIdentifier(metatype))
    }
}

extension Dictionary {
    subscript(_ key: Any.Type) -> Value? where Key == AnyMetatypeWrapper {
        get { self[AnyMetatypeWrapper(metatype: key)] }
        _modify { yield &self[AnyMetatypeWrapper(metatype: key)] }
    }
}

var dict: [AnyMetatypeWrapper: Any] = [:]
dict[String.self] = "String"
dict[Int.self] = "Int"
print(dict[String.self]!) // String
print(dict[Int.self]!) // Int

This is an example of wrapping metatypes and using ObjectIdentifier for hashing. This is quite useful when you want to use metatypes as keys for dictionary (which requires Hashable). Perhaps you can adapt this to what you want to do?

2 Likes

Nice, I think this is another solution (this time AnyMetatypeWrapper isnt generic over the type, unlike my solution).