Localization of Compiler Diagnostic Messages

Hello everyone, I hope you are doing well and staying safe :)

My name is Hassan ElDesouky, I'm a third-year CS student in a university in Egypt. I have a background in iOS development and competitive programming. I also have a blog on Medium and my website, you can check it at heldesouky.xyz. Finally, I'm an active member of the Swift community in Egypt as I'm a part of the SwiftCairo meetup.

I will be working on the Localization of Compiler Diagnostic Messages as part of GSoC 2020 with @xedin as my mentor.

This post is intended to be a conversation starter to discuss my following approach with all of you. Therefore, please don't forget to give me any helpful feedback.

Why Localizing the Compiler Diagnostic Messages?

Diagnostics play a vital role in a programming language experience. It’s vital for developer productivity that the compiler can produce proper guidance in any situation, especially incomplete or invalid code through messages. Currently, diagnostic messages are only available in English which limits their usefulness to anybody not proficient enough with the language.

As a step towards the goal of making Swift programming language more accessible for non-English speakers, this proposal extends the Swift compiler to produce localized diagnostic messages.

Goal

Currently, the Swift compiler diagnostic definitions are hard-coded in .def files e.g., DiagnosticsSema.def, and this has many disadvantages like:

1. The format is not extensible e.g. it's impossible to express localized messages.
  2. The format is not accessible.
  3. The format is hard for non-technical people to use.
  4. Filles are pre-processed into another format while the compiler itself is built. Therefore you can’t dynamically change the diagnostic file.