Live reload when developing server-side

I've been trying my hand a bit at the server-side swift stuff.

My background is Django and what I'm noticing is that the edit-run cycle is a bit long-ish. Two major issues:

• Live reload seems an essential pre-condition for rapid development. I know that people have stumbled against this problem on the iOS side of things as well and have patched against it using Xcode/Inject. In any case it would be nice to have a way to do hot reload or a plan to mitigate it to enable more interactive ways of development.

• To make things worse the default server I'm running sometimes will just no longer be responsive to interrupting which means you can't even quit it anymore… making the entire cycle of edit-build-run even longer. No clue whether that is my fault or not but it's kinda odd.

1 Like

Strong +1. IMO hot reloading would significantly improve the flow of creating iOS/server apps and would decrease the development time.

The biggest pain point for me right now when developing iOS apps is the compilation time. Although much has improved over the years, compilation still takes a significant portion of development time. Not only that but it "steals" focus from the current task. What usually happens (and I am not saying it happens to everyone) is that in those 1-2 minutes the project is compiling I hit the web and lose focus.

One of the main pros of new mobile technologies like Flutter and React Native is hot reloading and it would be great if it would also come to Xcode.

2 Likes

For me JS hot reloading comes at a very very big expense as you eschew compile time analysis and protection for runtime mishaps that maybe are properly caught with tests and maybe they lead to nasty submarine bugs in name of convenience. I do understand where you are coming from though...

Something like this isn't new or exclusive to dynamic languages, is it? I believe under certain conditions both C# and Java have offered this for a long time now.