Libsqlite3-dev libncurses-dev

What do you think of including libsqlite3-dev and libncurses-dev in the Docker images?

They are necessary to import the official SwiftPM package as a dependency, because llbuild’s llbuildCore and llvmSupport link against sqlite3 and ncurses respectively.

@mishal_shah @tomerd any thoughts?

My personal view is that we should not add dependencies to the docker images we provide for Swift developers just for building specific toolchain packages like SwiftPM. If we want that, I would say it belongs in its own separate images. But I'm not an expert or a big stakeholder here.

That being said, it might be reasonable to add sqlite3-dev specifically, since it's a very common dependency. I think ncurses is pretty niche by comparison.

Yeah, it could be a separate set of images. What I’m essentially wishing for is an image with everything needed in order to use any of the official packages. (i.e. repositories in the swift- namespace which have a package manifest and one or more tagged semantic versions).

It’s not a very high priority, just something that would have come in useful from time to time.

I also doubt they are actually being used when loading a manifest (which is what I presume most clients of SwiftPM are doing; building is easier through the CLI anyway). Maybe one day package flavours or something will be able to filter out the transitive dependency so it won’t matter any more.

1 Like

Swift.org publishes two set of docker images: