Introducing "Time"

Today is Leap Day, so I'd like to introduce you to a new Swift package I've been working on for over 2 years:

Time is a package that makes date and time calculations more expressive and safe in Swift. It's built on the power of Foundation's APIs, but smooths away their many rough and ambiguous edges. It relies heavily on Swift's generics to guarantee that the calculations you're performing are calendrically correct. If you'd like an overview of how it works, be sure to check out the documentation.

I'm releasing it today as an 0.9.0 version. I hope you will clone it and use it in your apps!

54 Likes

Soā€¦how do you feel about bikeshedding?

It's a fun diversion. What's on your mind?

1 Like

Well first off, having read through the documentation, Iā€™m wondering what the rationale is for choosing the spelling clock.thisInstant() instead of clock.now().

And second, I think some of the type names are not specific enough, including Absolute, Value, Difference, and AbsoluteValueSequence.

3 Likes

It actually has both:

https://github.com/davedelong/time/blob/master/Sources/Time/3.%20Clock/Clock%2BCurrentValues.swift#L13

now() is the same thing as thisInstant(). It has both because now() is the "proper" naming, but thisInstant() also helps it be consistent with thisDay(), thisMonth(), thisSecond(), etc.

Naming has been my #1 most difficult task with this framework. If you look on the "Roadmap" page, you'll see that I definitely want to rename Value, but only if I can find something better. I've spent weeks scouring sources for more definitive names for "a subset of calendrical values that may or may not be anchored to an actual calendrical point", but haven't come up with anything that really feels "better".

Difference used to be Delta; I renamed it in the hopes that Difference would be a bit clearer. Absolute (and the WIP Relative) used to be Anchored and Floating. AbsoluteValueSequence is basically just derived from Absolute.