Introducing Swift in higher education

Hi everyone,

I’m proud to be able to finally announce something I’ve been working on for the past five years:

PWS Academy is an online education platform that aims to bring a high-quality computer science education to as many students as possible. We recognize that our industry has many problems and we want to do our part in solving them. By thinking outside of the box of traditional higher education, we aim to build high-quality courses and make them available to more students than ever before — especially those who don’t have access to affordable higher education in their area, and those who don’t have the privilege to study full-time.

This initial launch consists of just one course: “Programming with Swift: Fundamentals”. This is an introductory programming course, aimed at students with no prior programming experience. In my experience, this is the hardest audience to write for, and writing this course was one of my career goals.

Here’s what makes this course unique:

• It’s actually aimed at beginners. New topics are introduced slowly, with great care, and with plenty of exercises. Advanced topics are postponed to future courses.
  • It adopts the principle of progressive disclosure and avoids forward references. Students should always feel confident about what they’ve learned so far, and should never get confused because a topic was only semi-explained or introduced too early.
  • The exercises and challenges are actually challenging. This course doesn’t just teach syntax; it focuses on building problem solving skills. Mindless copy-pasting will not be sufficient to complete this course.