Interested in Memcached Client project

Hello everyone👋

I'm Shehab Adel, a final year student who's interested in server-side development and distributed systems. I've been doing server-side development work with Node.js as part of my internship and personal project, and I've also had some exposure to Golang during my graduation project. This is my first time participating in GSoC.

Although I haven't worked with Memcached before, I'm eager to learn and work with Swift for the Memcached Client project idea. I'm open to other server-side projects as well. In my own project, I've used Redis with node-redis, which I believe can serve a similar purpose.

As far as I understand, the Memcached Client project aims to develop a package that can connect to a Memcached server and for example allows programmatic setting or getting of values using Swift, such as client.set('string key', 'string val') and more features as well. Please let me know if I've misunderstood, and feel free to provide more examples.

I'm also wondering if there are any resources or materials I should study for this project. I'm currently looking into Memcached clients' architectures implemented in various programming languages, as well as studying the binary protocol of Memcached.

Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

1 Like

The projects mentor @FranzBusch should be able to chime in and help out a bit here.

1 Like

Hey @Shehab,

Thanks for reaching out here! Your are totally right that the goal of this project is to create a memcached client in Swift that is able to do things like setting and retrieving keys.

I wrote a bit more detail already into another post about pointers where to start researching here.

If you have any questions about the project please feel free to post in this thread, contact me via DM or on the Swift Open Source Slack!

Franz

2 Likes

Thank you so much @FranzBusch for your information!