Important talks and articles for first time Swift Contributors

The topic of compilers was really new to me but I wanted to be a Swift contributor. So, I started learning more about how compilers work and try to solve a couple of StarterBugs.

I watched a lot of talks that helped me a lot to understand compilers better and especially those that are related to contributing to Swift, so I wanted to share them with you to help newcomers like me and if anyone has any talks or tips that are recommended, please share them in the comments. :))

Talks

Articles

Thank you all for this great community and good luck fixing bugs :)

33 Likes

This post is also quite helpful: What should I learn if I want to contribute to the Swift compiler?

2 Likes

It's such a great thread! Thanks for sharing.

If I may toot my own horn, I also wrote a long-ish comment here that might be helpful. Getting Started with Swift Compiler Development - #2 by typesanitizer

1 Like

Aside: I don't get why this is marked off-topic, this seems perfectly on-topic to me. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

It may have been brought up before, but we should start a page in the docs directory to collect links like this, there’s a lot of useful advice for new contributors on the forums, but it can be hard to find.

7 Likes

Thank you, I edited the post.

I'll also add it to the post. Thanks for sharing :)

Yep, docs/DevelopmentTips.md is kinda' intended to be the "hub" for this kind of thing (or at least, that's my mental model), but it is a bit barebones at the moment.

1 Like

I didn't even know it existed. I think it should be updated and mentioned in the official README.md as this will help a lot of newcomers.

1 Like

On second thought, I am very tempted to write a Compiler Documentation Manifesto. Just a few scattered documents are no good if there is no meaningful organization. What one needs is a map, not just a list of points of interest.

5 Likes

That would be awesome!!!