Implementing Mark-Sweep Garbage Collection in Swift

Hello all,

I'm not a Swift beginner, but this is my first time attempting to hack on the Swift compiler.

After reading a paper on improvements to reference counting (e.g. automatic cycle detection and coalescing of reference mutations) I became curious whether or not some of these improvements could be brought to Swift. The problem is, this paper requires a garbage collector.

My plan is to at least prototype a rudimentary mark-sweep garbage collector that runs along-side reference counting. The way I see it, I must implement the following:

1. Find referenced classes.
  • This means synthesizing a reachablePointers method for all objects, which returns the set of pointers this object references.
  • I don't expect this is too hard as its enumerating all class/struct properties and returning what they point to, but I'd be happy to know where to even start reading the compiler source.
  1. Add a Mark bit to the object header of all classes.
  • I expect structs don't need a Mark bit.
  1. Somehow find the root set.
  • This feels like a problem that I can solve by reading about SIL
  1. Implement Mark-Sweep.
  • I think I could just do this in Swift, using Unmanaged to free unmarked memory and reachablePointers to recurse.
  • Bonus that if I extend steps 1-3 to Objective-C, Swift could handle that as well.

I want to stress that this is not a Swift Evolution post or a serious improvement to Swift itself. I posted it in "Using Swift" to not clog the very important channels. This is a research project.

I would appreciate any feedback other than "don't do it". Even RTFM would be great if it links to someplace helpful. Thank you all in advance.

COW (Copy on Write) is fundamental to Swift’s value type implementation. This AFAIK can not be implemented with a garbage collector.