HTTP benchmarking tool written in Swift

Hello everyone,
inspired by the discussion in this thread, I've hacked together a small http benchmarking tool using nio during the last few evenings. It was a great chance to try out the AsyncChannel stuff recently added to NIO. Which I really enjoyed, I like it a lot more than the channel handler stuff :sweat_smile:.
I have no prior experience with benchmarking tools, so this is a first for me. There are very likely many optimisations one can make and incorrect assumptions in the code :slight_smile:.

As of now it only supports HTTP1, but I'd like to add HTTP2 and TLS/HTTPS in the upcoming days.
I've been following the whole discussion in said thread with a lot of excitement. Due to this I wanted to share the code pretty much immediately after I got something together to get feedback from the community. Maybe there are some people who want to contribute. Anyways, I'd love to hear feedback and tips on how I can improve the tool, also things I need to consider when writing benchmarking tools.

Currently I'm creating x connections to the target server, then I send a lot of requests within those x connections and measure the time the requests take. Is this a valid approach, or should I create a new connection for every request and measure the tcp + http time?
At the moment I'm measuring the following way:
The first request in each connection contains the tcp (is this relevant?) + http duration. All subsequent requests measure only the http duration.

Here's the code: GitHub - lovetodream/ohje

Thanks everyone!

5 Likes

That's fantastic - thanks for jumping in and creating this. :heart:

This could be the beginnings of a great community project, if others can also jump in and contribute. I'll be taking a look at it myself, for sure.

Getting it out there early is good on its own merits, too - I'm sure there'll be plenty of suggestions and wisdom shared on the best ways to flesh out the benchmark tool.