How to track down a crash that shows up in Array._getCount

I'm looking at an EXC_BAD_ACCESS crash in

|#0|0x000000018f6c0538 in Array._getCount() ()|
|#1|0x000000018f6c3764 in protocol witness for Collection.endIndex.getter in conformance [τ_0_0] ()|
|#2|0x000000018f6b7e8c in Collection.isEmpty.getter ()|

which occurs at a check of body.isEmpty.

In the debugger, I see

(lldb) p body
([graphQL.GQL]) $R2 = 0 values {}
(lldb) p body._buffer
(_ArrayBuffer<graphQL.GQL>) $R1 = {
  _storage = (rawValue = 0x0000000000000000)
}
(lldb) p body.isEmpty
error: Execution was interrupted, reason: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (code=1, address=0x10).

body is the payload of an indirect enum case with associated values. The crash occurs a couple levels into the recursion on the enum contents. I'm new to this codebase, it will take a fair bit of time and effort to trim it down to a small shareable test case.

What tools would you recommend to track down what appears to be some sort of corruption in the payload of an indirect enum with associated values? The memory checks and sanitizers show no indication of trouble. (Are there any known compiler bugs having to do with indirect enums?)

I found it is typically the quickest way to find the issue, binary dissection to get to the distilled version that still crashes then it is obvious what's going on. Might take some time though.

The simplest thing to check if indirect placed on enum itself vs it being placed on the individual case(s) change anything irt crashing.

1 Like

On further investigation, looks like it has nothing to do with indirect enum, and is an issue with order of initialization of globals. The following snippet seems to illustrate it or something very similar.

enum Foo {
    case x([Foo])
}

let gFoo1 = Foo.x([gFoo2])
let gFoo2 = Foo.x([])

print(gFoo2) // prints x([])
print(gFoo1) // crashes in Array._getCount()

Would you classify that as programmer error or compiler bug?

3 Likes