How to become an expert in compilers the long way?

I am just an eager student that wants to learn about compilers (everything about them). Currently, I do a lot of computer vision and NLP but I am really interested in compilers and currently, I have also started with swift.

I thought the experts that are actually working on compilers can help guide me by providing resources from beginner to further levels.

My background. I know assembly language. I am comfortable with C. I have also learned about state machines(FSA, NFA) and have fair knowledge about graph algorithms.

7 Likes

@jrose has a great blog post about exactly this!

I'd personally like to vouch extra for LLVM's Kaleidoscope Tutorial, which is a great high-level overview of most of the internals of an LLVM-backed compiler.

And also, I'd highly recommend just trying to contribute to Swift itself. We have a lot of bugs on bugs.swift.org marked as "Starter Bug" that you can pick from. If something seems interesting, assign it to yourself, send me a message, and I'll help you get started building the project.

11 Likes

It's worth pointing out that "compilers" is a very broad subject area, and its easy to feel overwhelmed at first. There are actually multiple subtopics that have little to do with each other, and together they comprise "compiler development". Examples:

• Parsing (you mentioned you're already familiar with formalisms such as NFAs)
  • Semantic analysis (something we refer to as "declaration checking" in Swift; I think there's a lot of subtlety here)
  • Type systems (this includes constraint solving, proof theory, logic...)
  • Optimization (graph algorithms come in handy here!)
  • Tooling (more about practical engineering than theory; this is the design of debuggers, linkers, code completion, etc. Itself a very broad topic with many sub topics one could study in depth on their own)