How do I initialize a C struct from a Data object?

Hi, I’m an expert C/C++ coder, and mostly comfortable in Swift, but I often end up needing to bridge to C APIs, and this always gets me confused and frustrated due to all the all the different unsafe pointer and buffer types and “withUnsafe…” methods.

Today’s saga: All I want to do is initialize a C struct (an array of 32 bytes) from a Swift Data object. (”All I wanted was a Pepsi! Just one Pepsi! And she wouldn’t give it to me!”)

I’ve got a C declaration like this:

typedef struct { uint8_t bytes[32]; } SHSPublicKey;  ///< A 256-bit Ed25519 public key.

It gets mapped to Swift as the rather silly-looking

public struct SHSPublicKey {

public init() ///< A 256-bit Ed25519 public key.

public init(bytes: (UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8))

///< A 256-bit Ed25519 public key.
    public var bytes: (UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8, UInt8)
}

My handmade Swift wrapper is:

struct PublicKey {
    init?(_ data: Data) {
        guard data.count == MemoryLayout<SHSPublicKey>.size else {return nil}
        _key = SHSPublicKey()    # Ugh, compiler forces redundant init
        withUnsafeMutablePointer(to: &_key) { ptr in
            data.copyBytes(to: ptr, count: MemoryLayout<SHSPublicKey>.size) // ERROR
        }
    }

fileprivate var _key: SHSPublicKey  // HACK: Should be `let`
}