Hello!/Obs. Language Elements/extent Swift for loops/Tuples init. APL in Swift

Hello. This is my first time here, so please allow me to introduce myself.. thank you.
Grab a chair. Coffee?
I've worked with many programming languages since 1979. Interesting years.
Fortran, Cobol, PL/1 C, CSP, C++, Java, Microprocessor, Assembler, Rexx, Pascal,
Smalltalk, APL, etc. Objective C, and also Swift since it became available.
OOD/OOP is my Holy Grail: the thing we found "somehow-something-is-missing-but-dunno-what?”
before it came along :o) My current creativity is RavelNotes, an ObjC/Swift hybrid iPad app
and under construction is a 3D game app with Swift/SceneKit for Apple TV.
I am 65: Now that I am retiring, app development will be the main thing for me to do
because it is fun and also because I simply cannot stop making software…
and I have lots of time for it.. without any quality compromising deadlines...

I am quite happy with Swift! It connects really good with the stuff that is already inside
my head allowing me to transfer my ideas and creativity into the virtual world without
too much hassle in-between. Swift is still new, but right from the start it has everything
I need and could wish for! There is really not that much missing, if any.
Thanks to Chris Lattner and team: you guys did a really amazing job!

Thanks for reading..
still here? OK

···

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. On removing (possibly) superfluous language elements

IMHO it is nearly impossible to estimate whether or not a certain language element
will or will not useful now or in the future. It's like Lego. So don't remove bricks from the
box that you might think will not be used anymore, just because a quick scan in the
neighborhood in GitCity reveals that at the moment no others are using this kinda bricks...

So why not keep these things like i++ i--
and the C-style for loop? More important imho: do the best to maintain downward compatibility