GSoC Swift Refactoring/Detection Tools

Hey Swift community!

Before the submission for GSoC proposals open up, I wanted to run by some ideas by you guys.
I have had two things I really want to do with this GSoC and they are the following,

1. Remove unnecessary keywords and type declarations if deemed unnecessary. These include but are not limited to
  • Unambiguous self keywords
  • Unnecessary type declarations
  • and so on…
  1. Thread safety analysis during compile time
  • Would behave much like Clang’s −Wthread−safety
  • Warn users about code that is attempting to update UI while not on the main thread
  • and so on…

A little about me, I have submitted and successfully merged one PR so far! Also, I am an undergraduate student and that’s about it :)

2 Likes

/cc @Anna_Zaks @kubamracek

/cc @akyrtzi @Xi_Ge @blangmuir

Hi Mike, it is great to see you’re interested in a Google Summer of Code project for Swift!

Project 1 sounds useful and likely doable in a GSoC time frame. Do you have specific examples the kinds of patterns you would want to remove? Coming up with specific examples would help spur a discussion.

Project 2 sounds more ambitious – probably too much for a Google Summer of Code project. For example, Clang’s -Wthread-safety has been worked on by multiple people including a summer intern and it still isn’t finished yet.

Warning about code that is attempting to update UI while not on the main thread sounds interesting and useful (for example, Apple has a dynamic analysis tool, Main Thread Checker, that does this at run time from Xcode). However, a challenge for doing that at compile time is determining when a piece of code is run on the main thread. Do you have examples of specific patterns you would want to warn on?

For both of these projects, I think a good next step would be for you to come up with some specific examples that we could discuss!

@Devin_Coughlin Thanks for the feedback!