[GsoC] Swift debugging support on Linux

Greetings,

I am a Computer Science student at National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, and I would like to be a part of this year's GsoC program.

During my academic career, I have only used Linux as my OS and on most of the projects I have completed I have used C Programming Language.

On my programs I used diffrent kinds of debuggers like gdb, valgrind.

Thus, the project idea " Swift debugging support on Linux" highly intrigued me and I would like to be a part of it.

I believe that I have the necessary background to live up to your expectations and I would like to leran more details about this project and ways I can contribute to its development.

Thanks in advance, Kostas.

5 Likes

Thank you for expressing interest.
I would recommend you trying to get your feet wet building swift-lldb and running the testuite. Don't hesitate to ping me back when you're done and I'll try to find a starter bug for you.

Hello,
I'm Gowtham and I am a Computer science student at The University of Texas. I would love to contribute to this open source project. I am proficient in Java and C++.
Currently I know a decent amount in shell scripting in Linux OS, working with GNU g++ compiler. I have extensively used the debugging tools in IDEs and in the bash terminal (gnu project debugger)
Even though lot of the projects seem highly technical to me, I believe I am qualified/or have minimum experience to work on this project and complete the deliverable.

Thank you!

Hello,

I have built Swift running Ninja and ran the Swift Test Suite as mentioned in swift/Testing.md

Στις Παρ, 28 Φεβ 2020 στις 11:36 μ.μ., ο/η Davide C. C. Italiano via Swift Forums swift@discoursemail.com έγραψε:

Hello once again,

I send this response to remind you of my initial email because it might have been lost among others.

Thanks for your time, I understand you receive hundreds of emails.

Let me find something you can start looking at.