GSOC Project Idea Questions (Package.swift Mechanization and Semantic Versioning)

Hello Everyone!

My name is Daniel Barychev and I am a Carnegie Mellon University sophomore looking to work with Swift for GSoC. I am particularly intrigued by the project ideas for the Swift Package Manager as I actually have some experience working with that technology before. Specifically, I spent last summer at IBM on the Swift@IBM team working on a security framework for SwiftPM that my team presented to @rballard and @ddunbar. I would love to work on some of the security features that I was working with then once more from the Swift team’s perspective, but some of the ideas presented on the project ideas page seem great so I wanted to ask some questions about them before I submit a proposal.

The idea that intrigues me most is the one pertaining to mechanically editing the Package.swift file. I spent a lot of time last summer dealing with semantics related to how the file was formatted and the versions of the dependencies it was trying to resolve so a CLI based editor for the file sounds like a fantastic idea. I have spent some time looking through SourceKit and the offerings it has towards cursor based approaches to refactoring, mainly consulting this. It seems like the ResolvedCursorInfo object and implementation of the performChange method may be of the biggest assistance towards trying to extend the refactoring principles towards the intended goal. I did, however, note that Ankit mentioned in a previous post that the libSyntax SwiftSyntax library may be more applicable towards the desired mechanization, but that it’s technical feasibility is a concern. I was just wondering if I’m thinking in the right direction and if any consensus has been reached as to which tool should be looked at most carefully.