GSOC Linux debugger support progress report

I'm working on the GSOC project Improving Swift’s Debugger experience on Linux, with my mentors @Adrian_Prantl and @vedantk.

For this project, as suggested by @Adrian_Prantl, I intend to post a weekly progress report every Monday, summarizing what I've done in the last week, and what I intend to do on the current one. I believe that keeping our communication in the open will be useful in involving the community in the project, keeping myself accountable, and hopefully as a reference for future GSOC students.

This first week, I worked in getting to know LLDB better by:

• Reading LLDB's architecture page.
  • Following tutorials on using LLDB as a user (I've already used LLDB of course, but I started learning it a bit more in-depth).
  • Reading about name mangling and Swift's type metadata.
  • Getting all enabled LLDB tests to run (and pass) on my machine.
  • Exploring LLDB's API through python scripting.

Overall I think my progress in the first week was alright, but not great. My main problem was that I didn't have a clear goal. Because of that, I bounced around a lot between different resources, and I couldn't measure how much I actually got done.

@Adrian_Prantl and @vedantk, I'd like to ask you guys if for this week you could give me a specific task that would help me understand LLDB better. Maybe an issue that is related to my project? Or any other task where I can measure my progress more easily. I think I'll learn more by having a clear objective of what I should do.

For now, my plans for the week are to continue exploring LLDB's API through python scripting, but, of course, these plans are open to change after your suggestions.

18 Likes

Hey @augusto2112, it was great to meet you last week.

Adrian and I believe you're off to a strong start. So far, you've gotten familiar with LLDB's architecture, and you've gotten your build and test environment sorted out. That's no small thing!